Braughing is a historic village and civil parish situated between the rivers Quin and Rib in East Hertfordshire. Braughing’s history dates back to pre-Roman times with many artifacts and buildings that are very old indeed. One such building is the St Mary the Virgin church which dates back to medieval times and dominates the landscape of Braughing. There are clearly signposted footpaths which allow you to discover the beauty of the landscape while taking a lovely village walk and observing some of the many threatened farmland birds. View some of the Village Walks on the official Braughing Parish Council website
People have lived in Braughing since at least the Iron Age and so many buildings are listed. The Hertfordshire’s County Archaeology team recently highlighted the national importance of Braughing’s history in a series of archaeological surveys of historic urban areas in Hertfordshire. In Roman Times there was a settlement at Wickham Hill situated at the junction of some Roman roads including Ermine Street (now the A10), Stane Street (now the A120) and the Great Chesterford Road.
There are traditions, such as the Old Man’s Day which has been celebrated for over 400 years.
Braughing is also famous for geese and ducks, local sausages, an annual wheelbarrow race and a drama group. The sausages are worth mentioning in particular, in 1954 Douglas White and his wife Anna first started making their Braughing Pork Sausages, the recipe has remained the same since and the sausages are still produced locally. The butcher shop closed in the last few years, however the sausages are now available across Britain in Tesco stores and from local pubs in Braughing. Over 30,000 sausages are sold every week!